Schengen Visa from Spain Visa Center Riyadh

Earlier this year, while I’m still on holiday in the US, I’m already thinking where to go on my next trip which is going to be during Eid Al Fitr 2015, I have decided to visit Spain and Belgium this time. One of my Pinoy friend wants to travel with me and it’s going to be his first time applying for Schengen visa (he doesn’t have any previous significant visa stamp on his passport, although he already traveled to Turkey, South Korea, Qatar for tourism). We decided to apply together, here is what we actually did:

  1. Check http://www.vfsglobal.com/spain/saudiarabia to know the step-by-step procedures and all details. 
  2. Booked our appointment on 05/05/15 at 8:10AM, print the appointment confirmation letter and bring it on your submission date. Check the appointment availability atleast 3 weeks prior to your intended appointment date. Our actual travel date starts on 16/07/15 so applying atleast 90 days prior to your intended travel date is a must.
  3. Completed the following documents prior to our appointment date: Schengen visa application form, pasted 1photo (3x4cm) in it, employment letter attested by Chamber of Commerce stating the phrase “no objection to travel” from my employer, exit/re-entry visa, 6 months bank statement stamped by SABB, copy of my Iqama, copy of my Bupa travel insurance, copy of my credit cards, copy of my passport and previous Schengen & US visa, hotel bookings in Madrid Paris Ghent Brussels as these are the cities i plan to visit, copy of my actual paid ticket RUH-MAD-CDG-RUH (I already paid my ticket in advance to save up more as ticket goes more expensive as travel date is near) although flight booking will do, introduction letter stating why i want to visit with details of my trip and my daily itinerary.
  4. The visa center is located at Dove Center at Um Al Hamam near Panda. Etimad is the company authorised agent by VFS Global in KSA, it’s a one stop shop for visa applicants for Schengen countries, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore etc., no need to go to the Embassies in Diplomatic Quarter. We arrive before 8am and the staff just started to arrive at 8am. 95% of its staff were from India. At the reception they will check appointment letter and all your documents and remove the documents they dont need before they give you a token with number. Then go to the section designated for Spain and wait until your number is called. I was the first applicant that day 05/05/15 and the Indian staff who checked my documents seems not happy with his job, no smile, no courtesy. Ater checking all my documents he said “where is your flight booking from madrid to paris and the train tickets to/from brussels?” I told him i already stated on my introduction letter that i will book it when my visa is approved. He said “no I will not accept your application unless you show me flight and train booking, go back here before 9:30am”. I said OK i’l be back then. 
  5. I waited until 9am before the travel agency on the same building opens up for us to get flight booking MAD-CDG. We paid SR100 each for that simple booking, but train ticket between paris-brussels is not possible as you cannot book in advance and the system on that travel agency is not working for train tickets. We went back at the visa Spain section and the grouchy Indian guy told me to go to family premium appointment section. This time the staff who check my documents was a Saudi woman who is polite and courteous eventhough i can only see her eyes (she’s wearing niqab). It was fast with no further remarks about the need of train tickets. I paid my visa and avail of the courier service for the return of my passport to my office address (SR370 total paid). As i had my Schengen visa last year were I already had my biometrics done, theres no need for another finger print scan this year.
  6. We applied Tuesday 05/05/15 and got our passports back with Schengen visa on Thursday 07/05/15. Very quick processing, muchas gracias Embahada del EspaÑa. Also I was so happy that my friend got approved  for his first time Schengen visa application.  
About hunterpm

I'm a single Overseas Filipino Worker guy based in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia since January 2007. I love travelling and plan to go around the world before I reach the age of 40. I don't prefer staying at hostel for privacy concern, I'd rather stay at a cheap hotel as long as it has its own toilet and bath. I'm a Top Contributor of TripAdvisor and included in the Top 10 contributor in Riyadh, I don't get any benefit from it, just personal satisfaction. I used to work in Kapuso network GMA7 in Manila for 6 years. Missing my busy showbiz career as a segment producer but kinda loving my current work now, enjoying a relax working environment with a good employer and decent salary. I have this blog for me to share my experiences in traveling and working in a foreign country and how I manage to get my head up out of hardships, struggles and challenges in life. Hope you enjoy reading my blog... Thanks everyone!!! 😄😘😜
This entry was posted in Filipino traveler, OFW, philippines, riyadh, saudi arabia, Schengen visa, Tourist visa application, Travel, Visa and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Schengen Visa from Spain Visa Center Riyadh

  1. warlajo says:

    Where can i get travel insurance? And how much? For all european countries, do they have same requirements? If not where’s the easiest to apply for european visa? Thanks hunter in advance

  2. HunterPM says:

    Yes all european countries have the same requirements, u have to apply in the country where u plan to stay the longest or the country where u enter first if u plan to stay the same number of days for each country. They said France is the fastest and easiest. I applied in Spain as i will stay there longer this year. The difficulty in applying for first time Schengen visa applicants is if u dont have any previous visa from other western countries and your salary is low. My other friend dont have any previous visa stamp from any western country but what got him visa approval in my opinion was his bank statement showing Sr20000 last balance and his 6 months payslip with a monthly salary of Sr7k+. In my case i applied my first schengen visa at Czech Republic Embassy as it is my main destination last year (pls read my other blog about this), they only took copy of my credit card as proof of financial capability. For travel insurance, in my company we have yearly Bupa medical insurance and it has worldwide coverage for emergency & medical outside of KSA. I requested our HR to provide me with confirmation letter from Bupa then in 2 minutes i have it. Please check VFS Global Riyadh website they have list of approved travel insurance company. It cost around Sr450 for 6 months, others are cheaper if u use it for schengen visa application purpose for 15 30 60 days travel and u can refund it if your Schengen visa is refused.

  3. jayanimas says:

    Hi, i am planning for a schengen tour next year with my family but i am lazy when it comes to documentation prcocedure conpliances and all that but i guess i have to take a bite. I am a filipino expat based here in khobar with my family (2 daughter and another one coming this january. Do you have any information if there is a schengen member country with their embassy located here in khobar? Nice posts btw. Keep up!

    • hunterpm says:

      There is Etimad company branch in Khobar/Dammam which u can submit ur schengen visa application, check their website, choose which country u want to apply ur schengen visa (u need to apply to the country where u will be spending more days). Requirements are almost the same for all schengen countries, u can apply 90 days before ur planned trip.good luck 🙂

  4. Aisha says:

    Hi. I requested for an electronic Employment certificate in our hospital and theyre stating d salary and end of contract Only.How about the no objection to travel phrase? Im applying for schengen. Thank you.

    • hunterpm says:

      Are u working in a government hospital? If yes an electronic Employment cert can be submitted provided that its mentioning your monthly salary, position, years in the company, passport detail, purpose of travel, and the phrase “no objection to travel”, bearing signature and company stamp. If u are working in a private hospital u need your employment cert signed by your employer, stamped by your company, legalized by Chamber pf Commerce.

      • Aisha says:

        Hi, Im working in government hospital. But theyre not signing and stamping anymore. Theyre stating only ur name, nationality, they put iqama nos( not d passport number),work category,hire date end of contract and d salary.. Thats all..❤️

      • hunterpm says:

        Since u are working in the government hospital, no need for Chamber of Commerce attestation. But im not sure if they will accept without mentioning your passport number and without stamp and signature. U can check it at VFS website and call their hotline.

  5. Wawiïiiii says:

    Hi I would like to ask regarding the schengen visa for Spain, is it valid only for 15 days? For real? What if I like to visit France or Italy? Should I get a different visa instead?thanks

    • hunterpm says:

      Pls take note that granting number of days depends upon the Schengen member state, if they are generous enough they can grant u up to maximum 90 days, or they can grant u stay based on your flight booking. When i applied at Spain VAC i submitted flight booking covering 9 days itinerary & was granted 15days stay & was able to visit Spain France Belgium Netherlands within that period. When i applied at Czech Republic for the first time i was granted 4 days stay only since my flight booking covers only 4days itinerary, when i applied the 2nd time i was granted 90days even if my flight booking covers 9days only. When i applied at Swiss they granted me 90days. If u require to stay more than 90days then u have to apply long term Schengen visa type D if ur purpose is employment, study, or permanent residence. Visitors are only allowed to stay up to maximum of 90days in every 6months period.

  6. Nicnic says:

    hi hunterpm. I got my visa approved by Spain Embassy here in Abu Dhabi, UAE. I just have one question regarding the remark since it shows VIS ESTANCIA. What does it mean? I noticed that you have the same remark on your visa. I am just afraid that I cannot travel to any other Schengen country because of this remark (although the embassy has approved for estados schengen/single entry visa)

    • hunterpm says:

      VIS stands for Visa Information System, next time u apply Schengen visa they will not take ur finger print again as ur biometric data is valid for 5 yrs on the VIS record. Estancia is a Spanish word for STAY and it indicates that u have a valid short stay Schengen visa. If u are not allowed to a specific schengen member country, you can see a minus sign of that particular country (e.g. Schengen -Germany -Italy, meaning u can travel to any Schengen country except Germany and Italy). If no minus sign means u can travel to any schengen country.

      • Nicnic says:

        Wow. That was fast. Since there is no minus sign after ESTADOS SCHENGEN, then I am going to visit Prague as well. Yipee…. Thanks Kabayan.

  7. Sarah says:

    Hello Hunter! it’s me again,
    regarding employment certificate, who will put the mark “no objection to travel”? should I ask my employer to write it on my cert?
    Thanks in advance!

  8. Pingback: My Schengen Visa Application Experience in VFS Riyadh, K.S.A. – piamariagladia

Leave a Reply

