CebuPacificAir vs. Philippine Airlines

CebuPacificAir is known to offer cheap promo fare for domestic and international flights. But don’t be deceived, you have to add up for meals and checked-in baggage so basically their “cheap” airfare is actually just slightly different than PAL’s airfare. PAL offers slightly expensive fare but it already comes with meals and checked baggage for both domestic and international flights. I HIGHLY don’t recommend flying CebuPac to and from Naga City in Bicol as they always cancel their flights in the last minute even for a simple rain or even due to early sunset. Based from my personal experience, they don’t care about the urgency of your travel, they don’t care if you spend php300 for taxi to and from airport and city center each way, you can’t even refund the terminal fee even if your flight is cancelled, they don’t care if you don’t have somewhere to sleep or eat while waiting for your next rescheduled available flight. Naga airport is very small, it can only accommodate ATR type of aircraft and the runway doesn’t have lights thus it only relies on day light. I wonder why Naga City government, with its continuous progress, known internationally for its wake boarding and Caramoan Islands, cannot have a runway with lights, cannot expand and improve its airport despite of increased terminal fees. I usually go to Bicol for maximum of 3 days just to visit my grandma. I always book a roundtrip flights via cebupac and my return flight is always got cancelled due to rain, I always end up going back to Manila by bus. While PAL’s flight continues, CebuPac cancels. As an OFW, I also don’t recommend CebuPac because the fare doesn’t include meals and baggage allowance. You have to pay extra for it. I compared my last travel on 01-10Oct2014 airfares, I got ticket Riyadh-Manila-Riyadh for SAR990 from PAL while CebuPac for SAR2500+. Although PAL’s aircraft A330-300 used in Riyadh-Manila flights with crowded seats (3-3-3 configuration instead of 2-4-2) with no entertainment system, you have to bring your own or you can rent an iPad to watch movies, play games, listen to music for a fee or use the wifi internet for a fee, there’s “premium economy seat” option for a higher fare but the only difference is they will not seat another passenger next to you on the front rows of the plane, PAL is a better choice than CebuPac for its non-stop flight with free baggage and meals, and cheaper airfare piloted by a more experienced pilots. Hopefully PAL would assign a better aircraft type on this route for a core comfortable flight experience.

About hunterpm

I'm a single Overseas Filipino Worker guy based in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia since January 2007. I love travelling and plan to go around the world before I reach the age of 40. I don't prefer staying at hostel for privacy concern, I'd rather stay at a cheap hotel as long as it has its own toilet and bath. I'm a Top Contributor of TripAdvisor and included in the Top 10 contributor in Riyadh, I don't get any benefit from it, just personal satisfaction. I used to work in Kapuso network GMA7 in Manila for 6 years. Missing my busy showbiz career as a segment producer but kinda loving my current work now, enjoying a relax working environment with a good employer and decent salary. I have this blog for me to share my experiences in traveling and working in a foreign country and how I manage to get my head up out of hardships, struggles and challenges in life. Hope you enjoy reading my blog... Thanks everyone!!! 😄😘😜
This entry was posted in A330-300, air travel, airlines, ATR, bicol, CebuPacific, Filipino traveler, manila, naga city, OFW, PAL, philippines, riyadh, saudi arabia, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

