Reaction to HongKong tourists hostage in Manila.

I was watching the telecast on GMA Pinoy TV during the hostage taking of a bus full of HK tourist in Manila last Monday 23 Aug., which also simultaneously telecast on CNN & BBC. As a Filipino, I was very much disappointed on how our PNP handled the situation. It shows the rescue operation was not properly planned and coordinated. Very poor tactics by our police force. Lack of equipment needed for rescue. First of all, the hostage taker who was also a police, whatever his personal reason for that hostage taking, must take into consideration that there are other ways to tell the Philippine government about his demands on his case without taking innocent tourist as hostage. It gave a totally bad impression to our tourism industry and the international community. I respect the reactions made by HK Chinese people in protest on the said hostage taking which cost 8 lives. I can feel their pain and anger. If I were on their situation, I would undoubtedly initially felt the same way. But I am an open-minded person and doesn’t contented on what I have seen on the news, I analyze the situation. As a former media, I always take into account both sides on the story. The whole embarrassment made by our police on handling the situation was viewed around the world. PNP and our government must learn from this and improve whatever is required and make sure that this mishaps will not happen again for our citizen and tourist alike.

About hunterpm

I'm a single Overseas Filipino Worker guy based in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia since January 2007. I love travelling and plan to go around the world before I reach the age of 40. I don't prefer staying at hostel for privacy concern, I'd rather stay at a cheap hotel as long as it has its own toilet and bath. I'm a Top Contributor of TripAdvisor and included in the Top 10 contributor in Riyadh, I don't get any benefit from it, just personal satisfaction. I used to work in Kapuso network GMA7 in Manila for 6 years. Missing my busy showbiz career as a segment producer but kinda loving my current work now, enjoying a relax working environment with a good employer and decent salary. I have this blog for me to share my experiences in traveling and working in a foreign country and how I manage to get my head up out of hardships, struggles and challenges in life. Hope you enjoy reading my blog... Thanks everyone!!! 😄😘😜
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

